Reiki Introduction

I decided it would be fun to change it up a little bit and do a post on Reiki.  I’ve been meaning to write about this for a while, it is one of my favorite topics.  In fact, I’d say it’s more than just a topic, it’s a way of looking at life that is all about perspective and connection to Spirit.

Reiki is commonly known as an alternative form of healing that focuses and channels divine energy which heals and restores a person to their original state of balance and perfection.  Thinking about Reiki keep in mind the idea that everything is energy, you me, that rock, the tree,  it’s all the same energy, just expressed in different ways.

This collective energy, the conscious sum of all infinite possibilities and expressions is what I think of as God or Spirit.  This is the force that Reiki practitioners channel when they are doing healing sessions.  We don’t think of ourselves as the ones doing the healing, rather it is this energy which is what restores people to their natural state of balance, we act as conduits for it.  There is a saying in Reiki, “When ego goes, Reiki flows.”

150px-Mikaousui Reiki has its roots in Japan, with a man named  Dr. Mikao Usui.  The story I was told is that Usui was doing a fasting meditation which lasted 21 days.  Usui was about to give up on the whole thing when on the 21st day he received from the Universe an attunement and what we now know as Reiki.

I’ve also heard it told that he found a sort of “formula” for Reiki when studying old Buddhist writings during his fast at the temple, this formula was the focus of his meditation which lead to his awakening on the mountain.   It is said that during this “attunement” he saw a bright light and reached out to it, when he did he received the knowledge of Reiki.

They say a series of small miracles followed this event.  The first miracle was that he was able to eat a full meal right away after 21 days of fasting.  The next miracles followed as he made his way back down the mountain; he found he could heal people and eventually started teaching Reiki to others, they in turn brought it to the west and Reiki has grown to become a world-wide and varied tradition.

Today there are many different forms of Reiki which have branched off from the original ideas taught by Usui.  These are normally divided into two large branches, traditional Japanese Reiki, and Western Reiki.  From these two main branches have come many different Reiki practices developed by people over the years, such as Kundalini Reiki and so on.

My personal opinion of Reiki is that anyone can practice it, by virtue of existing you are a part of Spirit and therefore you can access Reiki.  However, I do believe that attunements make that process easier by effecting your subconscious and giving you focus.  Plus, having gone through attunements myself, I can tell you it’s a very transforming process worth the experience.

When you are being attuned, you can literally feel the energy flowing in the form of intense warmth, tingling, even symbols, images and color will flash through your mind, these sensations also occur when you are channeling Reiki for healing.

When learning Reiki, a person goes normally through a series of 3 attunements or levels. A cleansing period follows each attunement and lasts 21 days.  It is during this time old energies and issues are brought to the surface and released while the body and spirit goes through a sort of “detox” which opens you up to being able to channel higher amounts of this spiritual energy.  Think of it like plumbing, water in a pipe flows better when there isn’t stuff blocking it.

It is recommended during these times to abstain from eating meat and processed foods and consuming drugs like caffeine and nicotine.  You will also be advised to drink plenty of water and rest.  These practices will help make the cleanse an easier process to go through.

Simboli_Takata_bianco12KWhen you first become attuned in Reiki 1,  you are opened up to  channel divine energy and heal yourself and others.   You learn a series of hand placements along the body, as well as the power symbol for Reiki, which is called “Choku Rei”.

While I am trained to use traditional western hand positions, I find that I prefer to use the traditional Japanese method of intuitive hand placements and going where my instincts tell me the energy is needed.

The second attunement for Reiki allows you to receive even greater amounts of energy, and you are given two more symbols to work with.  The first is called “Sei He Ki”, it is used for mental and emotional balance and healing.  The second symbol you receive is called “Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen” and it allows you to connect with and heal people regardless of time and distance. 

The final level of Reiki allows you to teach and attune other people to Reiki Energy.  You are given the master symbol “Dae Ko Myo”, it is at this point you are considered a Reiki Master/Teacher.   The master level is sometimes split up into two separate attunements, depending on who you learn it from and what tradition that person follows.

Most Reiki practitioners follow a lineage of teachers, and the information is passed along from teacher to student.  My lineage is with Usui Reiki where I have reached level 2, and Kundalini Reiki where I have reached master/teacher level and can attune others.  When you are attuned your teacher will give you a certificate which will state your lineage and what tradition you are following.

Once you are attuned to Reiki, you’ll find that it often flows on its own.  For example if you are in the vicinity of a person who is in need of healing, you may notice your hands start to get really hot and tingly and you can feel the energy flowing out of them.  People have also noticed this sensation with their eyes and other parts of the body, the Reiki flows on its own much of the time and goes where it is needed most.

I would like to wrap this post up with one of my favorite aspects of Reiki, one of the most important next to recognizing the divinity of all things is the importance of the moment.

Reiki practitioners also traditionally live by what is called the 5 Reiki Precepts or Principles.  They are as follows:

Just for today, I will not worry.
Just for today, I will not be angry.
Just for today, I am thankful for my many blessings,
Just for today, I will do my work honestly.
Just for today, I am kind to all living things.

I love these principles because I feel they do a great job of showing us that the moment is the most important thing, today is what matters, and today I will be the best person possible and let spirit shine through me.

My next post on the subject of Reiki will talk about the symbols more in-depth, and give more information about working with energy and Reiki and incorporating it into your daily life.  (It has many applications!)

Thanks for reading, Namaste!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s